The Council - Brimbank Administrators

L-R: Administrators Jane Nathan, John Watson (Chair), John Tanner AM

Why Does Brimbank Have Administrators Instead of Councillors?

The Local Government (Brimbank Council) Act 2009 to dismiss elected Councillors was passed by the Victorian Parliament on 12 November 2009. On the advice of the Minister for Local Government, the Governor in Council appointed a panel of three administrators on 17 November 2009. This panel was to hold office until the Local Government elections in 2012.

In May 2012, the state government extended the Administration of our Council to March 2015 – with changes to the composition of the panel taking place from October 2012. In May 2014, the Victorian Government extended the period of Administrators until October 2016 to coincide with statewide Council elections.

What Powers Do Administrators Have?

Our Administrators act as Councillors. They follow the formal decision-making process as outlined in the Local Government Act 1989. Administrators have no special responsibility to the Victorian Government, nor any special reporting relationship.

Brimbank Panel of Administrators:

John Watson - Chair

Mr John Watson is the Chair of our Panel of Administrators. He was appointed by the Minister for Local Government, starting on November 1st 2012. Previously, Mr Watson was the Executive Director of Local Government Victoria, within the Department of Planning Community Development, starting early 2007.

He has more than 40 years of experience working with local government, including as Chief Executive Officer of the Shire of Bulla, and the Moonee Valley and Hume City councils. Also at state government level – specialising in governance and legislation.

To contact Administrator Watson:

Jane Nathan - Administrator

Jane Nathan has a long, successful association with local government. She was a Commissioner of our council following amalgamations in 1994, and prior to that was a Councillor and Mayor for the City of Hawthorn.

She is well known in the local government sector, particularly for skills and experience in community relations and strategic planning.

To contact Administrator Nathan:

John Tanner (AM)  - Administrator

John Tanner was appointed as Administrator on 11 March 2014, bringing extensive experience in local government, small business, and regional development.

John was a Commissioner of the Shire of Delatite from 1994 to 1997, following amalgamations. He is well regarded for his expertise in community engagement, management, governance, and strategic planning. John was made a Member of the Order of Australia in the Australia Day honours 2016.

To contact Administrator Tanner: