Audit and Risk Committee

The Audit and Risk Committee is one of our advisory committees. It was established in accordance with section 53 of the Local Government Act 2020.

Audit and Risk Committee Purpose

The purpose of the Audit and Risk Committee is to support Council in discharging its oversight responsibilities related to financial and performance reporting, risk management, fraud prevention systems and control, maintenance of a sound internal control environment, assurance activities including internal and external audit, and Council’s performance with regard to compliance with its policies and legislative and regulatory requirements.

The Committee acts in this capacity by monitoring, reviewing, endorsing and advising on the above matters as set out in its Charter. This Charter has been developed in accordance with Section 54 of the Local Government Act 2020.

Audit and Risk Committee Responsibilities

The committee's responsibilities are set out in the Audit and Risk Committee Charter.

Information on Committee Members

Geoffrey Harry - Independent Chair of Audit and Risk Committee

Geoff Harry was appointed as independent Chair of the Audit and Risk Committee on 19 February 2019.

Mr Harry has extensive assurance, risk management and governance services’ experience gained through his 25 years as a partner at PricewaterhouseCoopers.

Geoff currently chairs Audit and Risk Committees for the Cities of Melbourne, Greater Geelong, Kingston and Whittlesea, and is also a member of the Audit Committees of several state government agencies (including Department of Premier & Cabinet and IBAC) and other local government agencies.

Geoff is a Fellow of The Institute of Chartered Accountants in Australia and Fellow of CPA Australia.

Geoff also holds a B Econ from Monash and is a Graduate Member of the Australia Institute of Company Directors.

Ben Dunlop – Independent Member

Ben Dunlop was appointed as an independent member to the Audit and Risk Committee in 2016.

Ben has had experience serving on both boards and audit, risk and finance committees for government, not-for-profit, and corporate, including Hawthorn Football Club.  

Ben is a qualified Certified Practicing Accountant (CPA) and has a Masters in Business Sports Management.

Mark Davies – Independent Member

Mark Davies was appointed as an independent member to the Audit and Risk Committee in 2018.

Mark has served as a director and audit committee member on various public sector and not-for-profit boards and organisations.

He has extensive experience in finance, accounting and audit and has held senior executive positions in a number of Victorian local governments including Chief Executive Officer.

Mark is a Fellow of the Chartered Accountants in Australia and New Zealand and is currently the Principal of Financial Performance Solutions.

Councillor Representatives - To be advised.

Internal Auditor

We appoint our internal auditor through a public tender process in accordance with the Local Government Act, and our Procurement Policy.

Following a tender process, we appointed NTT as our internal audit services provider in March 2018, for a three year term.